CE 22-40 NC
BibArch Home Up Old or New Cycle Calendar Rules CE 22-40 OC CE 22-40 NC 10 BCE - CE 99 OC

 

Up

Below are the Julian Calendar dates for the festivals celebrated by the ancient church as determined by the rules of the Calculated Hebrew Calendar as stated by Hillel (leap or embolismic years 3, 6, 8, 11,14, 17, 19 in a 19 year cycle). Here there is no adjustment made preventing Pentecost from occurring in the summer rather than spring. In this method Pentecost has been determined by the priestly method of counting 50 days beginning with the Sunday on which the priests offered the wavesheaf during the Days of Unleavened Bread. Since the Days of Unleavened Bread consist of seven days there can be only one Sunday during the festival. The wavesheaf offering had to occur during the Days of Unleavened Bread. When Passover occurred on a weekly Sabbath the Sunday during the Days of Unleavened Bread was also the first annual Sabbath (Nisan 15). The method for determining Pentecost utilized by the Pharisees was to count the 50 days from Nisan 15 (the first annual Sabbath or Passover Sabbath) which fixed for them Sivan 6 as Pentecost.

Pentecost always occurs on a Sunday. Leviticus 23:15 states that Pentecost is counted "from [beginning with] the day after the sabbath, from the day when you brought in the sheaf of the wave offering..." The priests performed the wavesheaf offering on Sunday, that is on the day after the weekly Sabbath. With a Sunday the first day, seven full weeks (or forty-nine days) takes one to the fiftieth day, again on a Sunday. One counts 50 days beginning with the Sunday of the wavesheaf offering, during the Days of Unleavened Bread, which is the day after a regular weekly Sabbath not an annual Sabbath.

Before you can count fifty days to Pentecost, you need the starting point, which is the Sunday of the wavesheaf offering. The table below is an overview of the relationship of Passover and the wavesheaf offering:

Passover (Nisan 14)

Wavesheaf Offering

Days After Passover

Friday (Thurs. eve) 

Nisan 16 (Sunday)

 2

Wednesday

Nisan 18

 4

Monday 

Nisan 20

 6

Sabbath 

Nisan 15

 1

Below is a chart providing the dates of the principal festivals and holy days (Annual Sabbaths) for the 19 year cycle beginning 22 CE and ending 40 CE.
 

FESTIVALS AND HOLY DAYS CE 22-40
Hillel II [New Cycle] Method

CEa Passover
Nisan 14
1st Day UB
Nisan 15
Wavesheaf
Offered
Last Day UB
Nisan 21
Priestly
Pentecost
(varies)
Pharisee
Pentecost
Sivan
6

Hebrew Year
 Beginning
Tishri 1


Hebrew
Year
Typeb
Elapsed
Years
 in
Cyclec
Trumpets
Tishri 1
Atonement
Tishri 10
Tabernacles
Tishri 15
Last Great Day
Tishri 22

22

Apr 4 Sat

Apr 5 Sun

Apr 5 Sun

Apr 11 Sat

May 24 Sun

May 25 Mon

3782

CC

1

Sep 15 Tue

Sep 24 Thu

Sep 29 Tue

Oct 6 Tue

23

Mar 24 Wed

Mar 25 Thu

Mar 28 Sun

Mar 31 Wed

May 16 Sun

May 14 Fri

3783

CR

2

Sep 4 Sat

Sep 13 Mon

Sep 18 Sat

Sep 25 Sat

24

Apr 12 Wed

Apr 13 Thu

Apr 16 Sun

Apr 19 Wed

Jun 4 Sun

Jun 2 Fri

3784

EC

3

Sep 23 Sat

Oct 2 Mon

Oct 7 Sat

Oct 14 Sat

25

Apr 2 Mon

Apr 3 Tue

Apr 8 Sun

Apr 9 Mon

May 27 Sun

May 23 Wed

3785

CC

4

Sep 13 Thu

Sep 22 Sat

Sep 27 Thu

Oct 4 Thu

26

Mar 22 Fri

Mar 23 Sat

Mar 24 Sun

Mar 29 Fri

May 12 Sun

May 12 Sun

3786

CR

5

Sep 2 Mon

Sep 11 Wed

Sep 16 Mon

Sep 23 Mon

27

Apr 9 Wed

Apr 10 Thu

Apr 13 Sun

Apr 16 Wed

Jun 1 Sun

May 30 Fri

3787

ED

6

Sep 20 Sat

Sep 29 Mon

Oct 4 Sat

Oct 11 Sat

28

Mar 29 Mon

Mar 30 Tue

Apr 4 Sun

Apr 5 Mon

May 23 Sun

May 19 Wed

3788

CC

7

Sep 9 Thu

Sep 18 Sat

Sep 23 Thu

Sep 30 Thu

29

Apr 16 Sat

Apr 17 Sun

Apr 24 Sun

Apr 23 Sat

May 12 Sun

Jun 6 Mon

3789

ED

8

Sep 27 Tue

Oct 6 Thu

Oct 11 Tue

Oct 18 Tue

30

Apr 5 Wed

Apr 6 Thu

Apr 9 Sun

Apr 12 Wed

May 28 Sun

May 26 Fri

3790

CR

9

Sep 16 Sat

Sep 25 Mon

Sep 30 Sat

Oct 7 Sat

31

Mar 26 Mon

Mar 27 Tue

Apr 1 Sun

Apr 2 Mon

May 20 Sun

May 16 Wed

3791

CC

10

Sep 6 Thu

Sep 15 Sat

Sep 20 Thu

Sep 27 Thu

32

Apr 14 Mon

Apr 15 Tue

Apr 20 Sun

Apr 21 Mon

Jun 8 Sun

Jun 4 Wed

3792

EC

11

Sep 25 Thu

Oct 4 Sat

Oct 9 Thu

Oct 16 Thu

33

Apr 3 Fri

Apr 4 Sat

Apr 5 Sun

Apr 10 Fri

May 24 Sun

May 24 Sun

3793

CR

12

Sep 14 Mon

Sep 23 Wed

Sep 28 Mon

Oct 5 Mon

34

Mar 22 Mon

Mar 23 Tue

Mar 28 Sun

Mar 29 Mon

May 16 Sun

May 12 Wed

3794

CD

13

Sep 2 Thu

Sep 11 Sat

Sep 16 Thu

Sep 23 Thu

35

Apr 11 Mon

Apr 12 Tue

Apr 17 Sun

Apr 18 Mon

Jun 5 Sun

Jun 1 Wed.

3795

EC

14

Sep 22 Thu

Oct 1 Sat

Oct 6 Thu

Oct 13 Thu

36

Mar 30 Fri

Mar 31 Sat

Apr 1 Sun

Apr 6 Fri

May 20 Sun

May 20 Sun

3796

CR

15

Sep 10 Mon

Sep 19 Wed

Sep 24 Mon

Oct 1 MON

37

Mar 20 Wed

Mar 21 Thu

Mar 24 Sun

Mar 27 Wed

May 12 Sun

May 10 Fri

3797

CC

16

Aug 31 Sat

Sep 9 Mon

Sep 14 Sat

Sep 21 Sat

38

Apr 7 Mon

Apr 8 Tue

Apr 13 Sun

Apr 14 Mon

Jun 1 Sun

May 28 Wed

3798

ED

17

Sep 18 Thu

Sep 27 Sat

Oct 2 Thu

Oct 9 Thu

39

Mar 27 Fri

Mar 28 Sat

Mar 29 Sun

Apr 3 Fri

May 17 Sun

May 17 Sun

3799

CR

18

Sep 7 Mon

Sep 16 Wed

Sep 21 Mon

Sep 28 Mon

40

Apr 15 Fri

Apr 16 Sat

Apr 17 Sun

Apr 22 Fri

Jun 5 Sun

Jun 5 Sun

3800

EC

19

Sep 26 Mon

Oct 5 Wed

Oct 10 Mon

Oct 17 Mon

                aJulian years.

                bTypes of Hebrew Years:

                    CC = Common Complete [355 days
                    CD = Common Deficient [353 days]

                    CR = Common Regular [354 days]

                    EC = Embolismic Complete [385 days]

                    ED = Embolismic Deficient [383 days]

                cEmbolismic (leap) years are in red.

                dMean conjunction (not the actual conjunction)


Page last edited: 02/12/06 01:48 PM


Thank you for visiting BIBARCH
Please Visit Our Site Often